Still Running – Sometimes I Just Amaze Myself

Posted: May 9, 2013 in Exercise, Fiddlers Run, Jogging, Running, Uncategorized, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yup, I’m still running – and I’m actually getting quite used to it! I try and get out at least 4 times a week if I can that way if I’m not running enough on a particular day, maybe the 4th day will carry me through … is this okay? 🙂

What is kind of bothering me is this – I still weigh the same as I did when I finished the Biggest Loser Challenge. I’m not understanding why though? I am still eating healthy and I still haven’t stepped into a fast food restaurant, so I’m confused. I thought, “yeah, my muscles are growing” – but seriously, how long do they keep growing until I start to see some numbers drop?? I have not moved this much in years so I was half expecting to loose those last 20 lbs I was hoping to get rid of.

I even planned an evening run with the Learn to Run group. I went there dressed in my running pants, and jacket – I even took a bottle of water with me so if Kathy was there, I probably would have gone with the group. I parked the car behind the YMCA and as I was making my way over to the gym, I fell. OMG – it hurt like hell! I landed on my two knees and my two hands. For some reason, my left knee must have hit harder, or the fact that it’s full of arthritis, made it feel that much more painful. I got up, tried to walk and then heard some idiot yell to me. Thinking (amidst my embarrassment) that someone might actually be concerned, he yelled, ‘Is that your car?” pointing to my car – which I thought was parked in an afterhours parking lot – I said, “yeah” – really thinking – ‘I’m okay, thanks for asking’ – and then he yelled at me to move it! I was so upset (not to mention sore). I walked over to my car – bastard wouldn’t even look at me limping – and drove away. I found a spot to park and I sat there overwhelmed with pain! Why was this man so cruel?

I made my way to the YMCA – early – they were handing out our tshirts for the Fiddler’s Run and I really wanted one – I knew it was going to say, “Training for the Fiddler’s Run” and I’ve never trained for anything before so I was excited to get this shirt. I know – a little juvenile – but that’s just me. I guess it validates some sort of accomplishment. I got to the Y and the lady got me some bandaids for my cut and I waited for them to bring in the shirts. I was feeling very sore so I just grabbed my shirt and came home. I was sore and a little upset so I wasn’t in much of a socializing mood.

When I got home, everyone left so I decided since I was already in running gear, I’d go on the treadmill. It was raining out pretty bad so I went downstairs. I didn’t want to go two days in a row without running. I got on there – it was a lot different than outside let me tell you. I got tired a lot quicker for some reason and built up quite the sweat. I didn’t last very long on it and went back upstairs. My knee hurt. I jumped in the shower and noticed the cut on my knee bled through the bandaids. I was done for the night.

I made my tea, had my snack and sat down to watch some tv. I’ll try the run thing again tomorrow – outside.

Comments
  1. Nadine says:

    That is wonderful! I am so not into running but I know people that love it and are very addicted!! Sorry to hear about the fall and the crappy guy…..tomorrow will be a better day!! 🙂

Leave a comment